Doctor Who Classic Episodes: Fourth Doctor (Seasons 12-18) [1974-81]

Doctor Who Classic Episodes: Fourth Doctor (Seasons 12-18)

The Fourth Doctor was portrayed by Tom Baker, and is to date the longest-serving Doctor[4], having held the role seven seasons.

Season 12 (1974-75)

Barry Letts served as producer for Robot, after which he was succeeded by Philip Hinchcliffe. Robert Holmes served as script editor. Both Hinchcliffe and Holmes would retain these roles until the start of season 15. All serials in this season continue directly one after the other, tracing one single problematic voyage of the TARDIS crew. Despite the continuity, each serial is considered its own standalone story.

075 Robot 4A 4 episodes Terrance Dicks Christopher Barry 28 December 1974–18 January 1975

076 The Ark in Space 4C 4 episodes Robert Holmes (and John Lucarotti) Rodney Bennett 25 January–15 February 1975

077 The Sontaran Experiment 4B 2 episodes Bob Baker & Dave Martin Rodney Bennett 22 February–1 March 1975

078 Genesis of the Daleks 4E 6 episodes Terry Nation David Maloney 8 March–12 April 1975

079 Revenge of the Cybermen 4D 4 episodes Gerry Davis Michael Briant 19 April–10 May 1975

Season 13 (1975-76)

080 Terror of the Zygons 4F 4 episodes Robert Banks Stewart Douglas Camfield 30 August–20 September 1975

081 Planet of Evil 4H 4 episodes Louis Marks David Maloney 27 September–18 October 1975

082 Pyramids of Mars 4G 4 episodes Stephen Harris (a.k.a. Robert Holmes and Lewis Greifer) Paddy Russell 25 October–15 November 1975

083 The Android Invasion 4J 4 episodes Terry Nation Barry Letts 22 November–13 December 1975

084 The Brain of Morbius 4K 4 episodes Robin Bland (a.k.a. Terrance Dicks and Robert Holmes) Christopher Barry 3–24 January 1976

085 The Seeds of Doom 4L 6 episodes Robert Banks Stewart Douglas Camfield 31 January–6 March 1976

Season 14 (1976-77)

086 The Masque of Mandragora 4M 4 episodes Louis Marks Rodney Bennett 4–25 September 1976

087 The Hand of Fear 4N 4 episodes Bob Baker & Dave Martin Lennie Mayne 2–23 October 1976

088 The Deadly Assassin 4P 4 episodes Robert Holmes David Maloney 30 October–20 November 1976

089 The Face of Evil 4Q 4 episodes Chris Boucher Pennant Roberts 1–22 January 1977

090 The Robots of Death 4R 4 episodes Chris Boucher Michael Briant 29 January–19 February 1977

091 The Talons of Weng-Chiang 4S 6 episodes Robert Holmes (and Robert Banks Stewart) David Maloney 26 February–2 April 1977

Season 15 (1977-78)

Graham Williams served as producer, a role he retained until Shada, at the end of season 17. Robert Holmes served as script editor until The Sun Makers, during which he was replaced with Anthony Read.

092 Horror of Fang Rock 4V 4 episodes Terrance Dicks Paddy Russell 3–24 September 1977

093 The Invisible Enemy 4T 4 episodes Bob Baker & Dave Martin Derrick Goodwin 1–22 October 1977

094 Image of the Fendahl 4X 4 episodes Chris Boucher George Spenton-Foster 29 October–19 November 1977

095 The Sun Makers 4W 4 episodes Robert Holmes Pennant Roberts 26 November–17 December 1977

096 Underworld 4Y 4 episodes Bob Baker & Dave Martin Norman Stewart 7–28 January 1978

097 The Invasion of Time 4Z 6 episodes David Agnew (a.k.a. Graham Williams and Anthony Read) Gerald Blake 4 February–11 March 1978

Season 16 (1978-79)

Anthony Read acted as script editor for his final season, except for The Armageddon Factor, when that job was taken by Douglas Adams. Season 16 consists of one long story arc encompassing six separate, linked stories. This season is referred to by the umbrella title The Key to Time and has been released on DVD under this title.

098 The Ribos Operation 5A 4 episodes Robert Holmes George Spenton-Foster 2–23 September 1978

099 The Pirate Planet 5B 4 episodes Douglas Adams Pennant Roberts 30 September–21 October 1978

100 The Stones of Blood 5C 4 episodes David Fisher Darrol Blake 28 October–18 November 1978

101 The Androids of Tara 5D 4 episodes David Fisher Michael Hayes 25 November–16 December 1978

102 The Power of Kroll 5E 4 episodes Robert Holmes Norman Stewart 23 December 1978–13 January 1979

103 The Armageddon Factor 5F 6 episodes Bob Baker and Dave Martin Michael Hayes 20 January–24 February 1979

Season 17 (1979-80)

Graham Williams served as producer. Douglas Adams was script editor.

104 Destiny of the Daleks 5J 4 episodes Terry Nation Ken Grieve 1–22 September 1979

105 City of Death 5H 4 episodes David Agnew (a.k.a. Douglas Adams, Graham Williams, and David Fisher) Michael Hayes 29 September–20 October 1979

106 The Creature from the Pit 5G 4 episodes David Fisher Christopher Barry 27 October–17 November 1979

107 Nightmare of Eden 5K 4 episodes Bob Baker Alan Bromly 24 November–15 December 1979

108 The Horns of Nimon 5L 4 episodes Anthony Read Kenny McBain 22 December 1979–12 January 1980

109 Shada[e] 5M 6 episodes Douglas Adams Pennant Roberts Unaired

Season 18 (1980-81)

This was the first season produced by John Nathan-Turner; Christopher H. Bidmead served as script editor. In a return to the format of early seasons, virtually all serials from Seasons 18 through 20 are linked together, often running directly into each other. Season 18 forms a loose story arc dealing with the theme of entropy. Full Circle, State of Decay, and Warriors’ Gate trace the Doctor’s adventures in E-Space; they were released as a VHS set with the umbrella title The E-Space Trilogy.

110 The Leisure Hive 5N 4 episodes David Fisher Lovett Bickford 30 August–20 September 1980

111 Meglos 5Q 4 episodes John Flanagan and Andrew McCulloch Terence Dudley 27 September–18 October 1980

112 Full Circle 5R 4 episodes Andrew Smith Peter Grimwade 25 October–15 November 1980

113 State of Decay 5P 4 episodes Terrance Dicks Peter Moffatt 22 November–13 December 1980

114 Warriors’ Gate 5S 4 episodes Stephen Gallagher Paul Joyce & Graeme Harper 3–24 January 1981

115 The Keeper of Traken 5T 4 episodes Johnny Byrne John Black 31 January–21 February 1981

116 Logopolis 5V 4 episodes Christopher H. Bidmead Peter Grimwade 28 February–21 March 1981